On Arizona

Vintage Immigration Cartoon
I don’t have anything to add to the Arizona immigration issue, beyond agreeing with the general consensus that the new law increases the GOP’s divide with Latinos and opens up a huge hole for the Democrats to charge though on immigration reform. Over at Balloon Juice, Mistermix’s post about his mother struck me as noteworthy:

Let’s talk about my Mother. She’s 74 years old, brown (US citizen from Mexican parents), and tough as nails. She spends her winters in a small town near Tucson, a few miles from where she grew up.

Since the Arizona immigration law passed, I’ve been thinking about what’s going to happen the first time she’s pulled over and asked for her papers. The results of my thought experiment aren’t pretty. To say that she’ll be unintimidated by the local cops is a gross understatement. My concern is for the officer who pulls her over, as well as the police department and town that she’ll sue. Life gets a little dull for the retired, and the family joke is that Mom has a titanium grudge carrier, so I expect she’ll do her part to bankrupt her local municipality, and enjoy doing it.

Mom’s a proud Goldwater Republican. She was happy with Reagan, voted for Bush II in 2000 (but not in ‘04), and has long been active in the local Republican party. But I can say with absolute certainty that she will not vote for a Republican, for any office, ever again. She’s the proudest person I know—proud of her family, her achievements in life, and her Mexican heritage. And, whatever else this new law is, it is profoundly disrespectful. I don’t know if this law will kill the Republican party in Arizona, but I can assure you that they’re already dead to her.

Published in: on May 1, 2010 at 9:26 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dug4000.wordpress.com/2010/05/01/on-arizona/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment